Howto Ubuntu Gnome Blog Poster – No WordPress XML-RPC Connection Problem

I have been installing a collection of desktop apps related to administrating websites and forums, and generally keeping up to date with Twitter and Blogs etc.

Well one of those apps was a Desktop Blog publisher. I tried a few and I couldn’t get any of them to connect to any of my self-hosted WordPress sites.

I installed the Gnome Blog Poster from the Ubuntu Software Center:
http://www.gnome.org/~seth/gnome-blog/

Problem

Every time I tried to connect with my WordPress driven site, I got this error message:

Could not get list of blogs
URL ‘http://blahblah.org/xmlrpc.php’ does not seem to be a valid bloggerAPI XML-RPC server. Web server reported: Precondition Failed.

That was after choosing the option “Self Run WordPress“.

Solution
So I decided to try and connect using the other options, and eventually got it to work by choosing Self Run Moveable Type instead. Hey presto!! it worked.

So, just in case anybody else tries to use Blog Entry Poster with their own WordPress blog, now you can.

Leave a Reply

