Back on Ub… #! Crunchbang

**EDIT** – Since Crunchbang changed to a Debian Base, I am now using it as my main distro. I tried to get back into Ubuntu, but neither the forums nor the distro felt the same as when I started using them around 4-5 years ago.

Due to having to restructure my freetime; Work, Family, Study, I have decided to have a rest and a change.

I have spent the last 4-5 years distro-testing, developing, building Linux Forum communities and other Linux related sites.

There was stress, fun times, negative times and also very positive learning experiences, both with distros and people.

I have now decided to focus what little freetime I have on “using” computers and distro related sites to help the Linux community in general as opposed to trying to reinvent the wheel with separate projects.

Ubuntu has all of these tools in place; Launchpad, Forums, Wikis, Blogs, and recently Lucid LTS which is proving to be a very nice distro on all of my machines. I have had conflicts with members of the Ubuntu community in the past. But the past is the past and I am hoping to be able to play a small part in helping probably the most prominent Linux distro (in terms of marketing and popularity) to be even more user friendly.

At the moment the most I can do is help new users and provide beta testing and bug reports. Later on I would like to provide English/Spanish/Catalan translations as well (time permitting), but for now, giving something small back to Linux is all I have time for, so it’s just easier to do this with a distro which has the complete collection of tools and community.

I wanted to setup and Admin a large forum community, which I achieved with Dreamlinux Forums, I also wanted to create my own distro, which I achieved with Tota Linux. Finally I ran out of goals and new ideas, as well as freetime.

It took a of thinking about, but in the end I think I have made the right decision. My contact with local Catalan/Spanish Ubuntu LoQuo members has been quite refreshing and I am looking forward to taking part in a few meetings and helping out where I can.

It’s quite nice to be in the background as just another Linux user.

One thought on “Back on Ub… #! Crunchbang

  1. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

