Stop resolv.conf being overwritten by Network Manager

Going Minimal and Manual
This is one of those niggly little problems that happens when people who install full desktop environments face when they go for a bit of fluff reduction and start doing things manually.

Network-Manager and Wicd
I’ve already written about manually setting up a wireless connection, and static wired connections, which will just usually takeover and leave network-manager-gnome or wicd redundant but still showing the applet in your panel.
I completely remove network-manager-gnome anyway, but you may have a reason for keeping it just in case.


Resolvconf
The thing is, you still have the resolvconf package installed which will automatically take over and wipe your manually edited /etc/resolv.conf file, it even tells you what will happen at the top of the file in a commented out warning.

Quick n Easy Method
Just edit and change the write permissions on the resolv.conf file so that resolvconf can’t wipe it.

sudo vim /etc/resolv.conf

Add your nameservers (Iuse Google’s)

nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4

Then change it to read only (Can be reveresed by changing the + to a – in that command)

sudo chattr +i /etc/resolv.conf

Now reboot, you should have a nice manually configured wireless connection with no DNS issues or resolv.conf overwriting.

Advertisements